top of page

Bebop Reacts: Nintendo Direct September 2019


Well, I think I can say that I enjoyed that presentation more than Nintendo’s E3 show! There was a lot announced so I’m going to go over the 5 announcements that intrigued me the most (in no particular order). Enjoy!

5) Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE Encore

Man, I really don’t want to have to buy this game again but I guess I have to. Tokyo Mirage Sessions wasn’t played by many because of its release on the doomed Wii U and that’s a shame: It was my favorite RPG of that year, one of my favorite games in a long time, and a rare game that I 100% completed. It’s a vibrant, distinctly anime take on the Shin Megami Tensei and Fire Emblem formula (though it leans more towards the former) with exceptional music, fun characters, and a beautiful world. With nothing releasing on the Switch in January and added content like songs and characters promised, this is a game that (as much as I want to save money) I must begrudgingly buy again.

4) Xenoblade Chronicles Definitive Edition

Xenoblade Chronicles 2, as polarizing as it was in the RPG community, was a star in my early release-window Switch Library. The original Xenoblade Chronicles, though, was a game that I played on both the Wii and 3DS and loved even more. An example of how fan outcry can bring a game to the west (it wasn’t originally planned to be localized), the original story and combat system, as well as an overall more mature feel, keeps the original game ahead of its sequel in my eyes. Seeing Shulk in XC2 made me wish for a full overhaul, and the trailer we got looks like it’s doing that and more with enhanced graphics and areas that were originally cut from the game.

3) Overwatch on Switch

Prior to this point in my list, I was talking about games that I really intend to buy. I can’t say the same about this port. Don’t get me wrong, I love Overwatch. I’ve but hundreds upon hundreds of hours into the game by myself and with friends. I mean, the game has even helped me make new ones. That, though, is all tied to my Xbox. With no way to transfer or have continuous progress between the two ports, and with a friend group entrenched in the Xbox side of things, handheld Overwatch is an intriguing game that I probably won’t purchase but am happy that others will get the chance to experience. Also, Nintendo’s dodgy online might have something to do with my hesitation.

2) Deadly Premonition is getting a Switch Exclusive Sequel

My memories of Deadly Premonition are limited to watching a friend play it on his Xbox while I sat at home comfortably with my Wii instead of Microsoft’s offering. As you can guess, then, I don’t have much experience with the game. HOWEVER, Nintendo swooping in and getting a sequel to a previously exclusive game is huge for the company. Plus, the big N also shadow dropped the very first one (meaning that it’s available now) so maybe I’ll pick it up to see what the hype is about.

1) All of the Super Smash Bros. Ultimate News

Banjo is live in the game. Terry from Fatal Fury is the next DLC. A whole new wave outside of the initial 5 DLC characters is being developed. New Amiibo are coming soon. DO I NEED TO SAY MORE? Smash has been the gift that keeps on giving, and I’m overjoyed that it is going to continue to grow years after release. With questionable licensing going forward, and Smash essentially becoming a pantheon of gaming icons and history, this game alone is reason enough to keep the Switch well beyond its years. I don’t think we’ll ever see a collection like this again. Thank you Daddy Sakurai.

bottom of page