top of page

Bebop Reacts: Detective Pikachu


Never would have imagined the day where a live action Pokémon movie would be made in the west. The thought of one in general just sounds like a terrible idea. With the track record of bad anime/video game movie adaptations, trying to make a movie out of one of the most beloved franchises in the world would be very daring. But I am more than happy to say, Detective Pikachu was a really good time at the movies. I wasn’t expecting much from the movie, all I really wanted to see was Pokémon do Pokémon things. Detective Pikachu gave me those Pokémon things, sprinkled in with some Ryan Reynolds charm.

It’s not a movie with any deep plot or themes, I don’t think anyone was expecting that. If you’re a fan of Pokémon, I think you’ll enjoy the movie. There’s a nostalgic charm to it where it captured that thought when we were kids of “what if we lived in a world where Pokémon were real,” tapping into that was probably my favorite part of the movie. If you’re a fan of Pokémon and are on the fence about watching the movie, go watch it, you won’t regret it.

bottom of page