top of page

Durarara!! Spoiler Free Review


Image via MyAnimeList
Durarara!!

I never expected so many interwoven stories.

The Series in a Sentence

Enter Ikebukuro - the town that holds endless possibilities, Russian Sushi, urban legends and gangs colliding against normal, everyday life with Mikado Ryuugamine, a high-schooler moving to Ikebukuro to set out on his own from his ordinary country life and meets quite a few...interesting humans and otherwise that make this city vibrant with mystery, otaku culture and the supernatural.

What I Liked

Let me be clear: There’s a fairly wide cast for this show and it may take you all 24 episodes to remember all of the names. However, even with that being said, each of these characters gets their time in the limelight. Not one key player doesn’t get screen time to explain their motives, narrate, or follow their own story for half an episode. For me this felt akin to the popular Quentin Tarantino film Pulp Fiction - which switches between different characters only for you to eventually realize how they’re all connected. I still have my favorite characters in the show but I really appreciate the effort put into making each one have their own say about events. Even the city is fleshed out in a way that you can argue that it was a character itself in the way certain events occur. Which moves me to compliment the setting and variety of themes as well. I personally really enjoyed the different atmospheres that ranged from combat-like to horror style. With a city as large as Ikebukuro, it captured the different feelings from walking down the street with your friends to walking down the wrong alley and seeing something gut-turning. As a matter of fact, certain songs like “He’s Such a Coward He Can Laugh” remind me heavily of an underrated 3DS title The World Ends With You and that alone makes me love it. And the openings? If you’ve seen Baccano!, I can almost guarantee that this will feel nostalgic and familiar in the most positive way.

What I Didn’t Like

At the time of this review, I have not seen the second season. That being said, without getting into spoiler territory there were times that the pacing suffered. And personally it got to be unnecessarily slow at times when I could see why it was being done. In addition, the motivations for some characters remain hazy even when most of them get a chance to shine, which makes me hope that there’s more to be seen. This point is emphasized even more in the villains or antagonists of the series - which could’ve used more time and explanation.

Overall Feelings

All of the positives outshine the negatives and reduce them to an afterthought in most cases. Sure, there are points when you may wonder where the series is taking you, but I can promise that it is all a meaningful buildup to episodes that will show you how world building and character development can make supernatural elements even cooler. The characters are diverse and fun to watch go about their lives with a lively set for music. I would recommend this show for anyone looking for a 24 episode new slice of life, with action, that’s mixed up with the supernatural in a nice bow. A mysterious motorcyclist, gangs, Russian sushi and otakus await you to the city of Ikebukuro. Just watch out for the Dollars.

bottom of page